Present (Birthday Blog Part II)

[This is the second part of my Birthday realizations and so it would be great if you could catch the first part here. ☺ If not, it’s fine to read away.]

 

Now that we have introduced to you our house rules, we would like to call here in front those who have already violated them. They may like to explain themselves, Bro. Pong, the giddy host of the retreat said.

He started calling names. My seatmate’s name has been called and I was like, ‘oh my, what did you do?’ Yeah, I said that like I was terrifying a five year old kid that someone’s lurking in the dark.

Then my own name was called. What did I do? I thought, this time seriously. My mind flashed back for some seconds searching for something wrong but I could not find any.

Bro. Pong finished calling names and revealed to everyone that the people in front are the batch’s birthday celebrators! Haha! Wow Mali! 😛

He then handed to us our birthday presents and I started greeting my fellow birthday celebrators. The seatmate I tried to frighten earlier? I hugged her. 😀 (She turned out to be my buddy during the retreat and of course, even after!)

I didn’t open the gift right away. I know it was a booklet but I waited for the right time to read it.

On Sunday morning, I found myself missing the Love Life Retreat. That’s when I started to read the present.

PhotoGrid_1456126994991

It is a beautiful read about the visions and messages of Jesus and Mary during a celebration of the Holy Mass to Catalina Rivas.

(The booklet was given authority to be published (Imprimatur) by Bishop Jose Oscar Brahona C. of El Salvador, Central America and was recommended for spiritual inspiration by Bo. Daniel Gagnon, OMI, of the Commission for the Doctrine of Faith of the Archdiocese of Mexico.)

In the booklet, Catalina recalls how Jesus and Mary spoke to her on what really happens during the mass – the offering of guardian angel’s intentions during offertory, the presence of the saints and departed loved ones during consecration and more.

I was struck the most when I arrived at her recollection of the communion.

 Jesus said in a sad tone: “Did you notice? Not once did she (a fellow mass   goer) tell Me that she loved Me. Not once did she give thanks for My gift to   her of bringing My Divinity down to her poor humanity to elevate her toward      Me. Not a single time did she say: ‘Thank You Lord.’ It has been a litany of requests… and almost all of those who come to receive me are like that.

I became conscious of what I usually tell the Lord after taking His flesh and blood. More importantly, I realized a very beautiful truth after reading further.

“I have died for love and I am risen. For love I await each one of you, and for love I remain with you… But you do not realize that I need your love. Remember that I am the Beggar of Love in this sublime hour for the soul.”

Wow. Just wow. The Lord who died for me on the cross because of His love now begs me again, over and over during the Holy Mass for my love.

Suddenly, all the times I have been receiving favors from the Lord without my asking made sense to me. He exactly knows what I need and so He gives them to me even without praying for it – my parent’s devotion to the Holy Mass, new opportunities and unexpected blessings every single day that made me safe and calm.

I realized that we really not need to ask because He already knows. What we need to do is just express our love and be present. 😊

Leave a Reply

