My Ten Takeways from The Achy Breaky Hearts

I wanted to treat myself for a movie but much as I wanted to catch Me Before You, it’s no longer shown in the cinemas near me and so I settled for the romantic comedy film, The Achy Breaky Hearts. Haha! I just laughed writing that! The movie was hilarious and full of hugots [hugot is a Filipino word which means to pull out or to draw, but it is now widely used as a slang word which means sentimental or emotional. Example: Sana isinusulat na lang ang feelings, para madaling burahin. (I wish we can just write down our feelings so we could erase it.) Boom! Daming hugot! Ganern.)

As I also write this, Janella Salvador’s Pumapag-ibig song is still ringing in my ears. Haha! (I wanted to say sorry for being so jologs now. Haha!) Here’s the song, let’s watch it before I share with you my thoughts/realizations about the movie. Haha! “Teka lang muna, wait…lalalala..” haha!

(You have to watch the video first! haha!)

Now that you’re also in a trance because of the song, here are my top ten takeaways from the movie. Mind you, these are written in order, meaning, as the movie was unfolding, I was having mental and mobile notes on what to write after. Haha! Enjoy!

  1. SCENE: In the beginning of the movie, the main character Chinggay (Jodi Sta. Maria) is shown having lunch with her three girlfriends. The girls were convincing themselves that it’s practically okay if no one arrives in their lives. Chinggay was even convincing herself and the others that they will be fine, ‘magiging okay naman tayo, di ba?’ (We’ll be okay, right?) Then they all drink their iced teas together as if wanting to regain composure after fainting.

TAKEAWAY:    Ladies, it’s okay to express your desire to find the right person and get married! No need to pretend or hide your true feelings towards relationship and marriage.

 

  1. SCENE: Chinggay feeling lonely on her bed, maybe imagining hugging someone.

TAKEAWAY:    I am talking to both men and ladies here: You don’t need anyone to complete you! God made you complete already! As I’ve said in one of my previous Facebook posts, whenever we feel like we’re looking for something, we almost always find the answers in ourselves. We just have to dig deeper within us. That’s how we are made – full and complete, lacking nothing.

 

  1. SCENE: Chinggay feeling lonely again. (I actually can’t remember anymore the scene that made me realize this third point.)

TAKEAWAY:    Singlehood is the perfect time to pursue our dreams and work to be the best versions of ourselves. Ladies, while we wait for the right person, why don’t we work to be the right person ourselves, right? 😉

 

  1. SCENE: Chinggay was already half-asleep when she got an SMS from Ryan (Ian Veneracion): Bahay na ako, ikaw? (I’m home already, how about you?) Chinggay went kilig to the bones after. (Kilig, a Filipino word recently added to the Oxford English Dictionary, means the excitement one feels during a romantic experience. Example: He’s so good looking I can’t help but feel kilig. Char!)

TAKEAWAY:   I will specifically talk to the ladies about this because we are the ones often get trapped with the snare of sweet words (uy, hugot!). Never assume, never jump into conclusions. Haha! Never!

For the men out there: Never ever ever make a woman fall in love with you if you’re not willing to catch her. Wag ganern!

 

  1. SCENE: Chinggay’s friends weigh in on who’s the better man – the ‘changed’ ex-boyfriend or the dashing new man who seems to have a hard time getting over her ex-girlfriend. Friend 1 votes for the ex, friend 2 votes for the new man and friend 3 grants her vote to the person who’s not going to hurt Chinggay.

TAKEAWAY:    Ladies, we need this kind of accountability group. We need true friends who will tell to our faces that we are being insane or being ridiculous.

 

Now this reminds me of my Light Group from The Feast. 😊 You want to join an LG? Come to The Feast! (Ask me how here. Haha.)

10399182_10208860411610574_2021685171728061445_n
my light group 🙂

 

 

  1. SCENE: Chinggay just said: I am so over my EX. Then her phone rings, ex is calling. She answers the phone and volunteered to accompany the ex in babysitting his nephew.

TAKEAWAY:   Ladies, know your worth! You are not an item from the grocery store or a spare tire for someone who gets a flat tire, not even a super glue to cover up holes. You are worth more than gold. Scripture says that you are beautiful, fearfully and wonderfully made! (Psalm 139:14) You are worth more than the rubies! (Proverbs 3:15)

Never give your heart too easily as well! You know, sometimes I find it strange when we take good care of our gadgets (cellphones, laptops, cameras) or our other treasures (toys, books, gifts) more than we take good care of our hearts. Take care of your hearts, ladies. The Bible says, ABOVE ALL ELSE, GUARD YOUR HEART, for everything you do flows from it (emphasis mine). (PROVERBS 4:23)

Max-Lucado

 

  1. SCENE: There’s no more scene I could think of on this.

TAKEAWAY:   THE MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL. Never wait or put your entire trust to a man who you think will sway you off your feet, carry you through the dark abyss and will complete your happiness. Instead, give your entire trust to the man who gave his all and died with arms outstretched on the cross for you! 😊 😍 (Sobrang sweet Nya! As in, wala akong masabi sa pag-ibig nya!)

Here’s my life verse: Seek the kingdom of God above all else, and He will give you everything you need (Luke 12:31). Let us seek God first and everything shall be added unto us. 😍 That’s a promise!

 

  1. SCENE: Chinggay finally booking a flight to her dream destination.

TAKEAWAY:  It all starts with loving ourselves. J When we love ourselves, accept ourselves for who we are, nourish ourselves and take care of ourselves, that is when our heart grows. When our heart grows, we love better and our joy becomes double.

 

And there you have it, my thoughts and reflections on The Achy Breaky Hearts. I know I said in the beginning that it’ll be ten, but turned out it was only eight. Haha! Maganda lang kasing sabihin Top Ten. Char!

 

I hope that by the time you are reading this part, you are feeling better about yourself. Life is sooo good in so many ways and love is not about romance alone. It is my hope that you get excited from now on, on how the Lord will surprise you with His written story for you. In the end, He’s the best writer of all! (Trust me on this 😉)

4 thoughts on “My Ten Takeways from The Achy Breaky Hearts

  1. Nice one, niña. Keep blogging!! I would like to affirm your charism in writing. & I agree with all your points. Your most striking point for me is waiting for God’s perfect timing. We must not rush as He writes our stories. 🙂

  2. Love it, playmate! I agree, one must not worry too much about finding the right one but instead, one must work on being the right one. Because once we’re ready, the time becomes right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

